My Journey as a Reader

~Reading gives us a place to go when we have to stay where we are.~

True Confession:  As a child I never had a passion to read, but I did read, sort of…

True Confession:  It began with I Can Read books.  Do you remember them? I was going to go up in my attic and snap a picture of them, but I opted for Google images instead.  How cool is that?  These images are just how I remember my books!

True Confession:  Then it was on to Judy Bloom books and the Sweet Valley High series.  I seriously loved these books.  I remember going to Bookland at the Delco Plaza to get the next book in the series.  Then my friend Nicolle and I would share/swap our Sweet Valley High books.  That’s what readers & friends do!

True Confession:  I’m a cheater reader! Yep, that’s right! I frequently skip to the end of a chapter or the end of the book to find out what happens and then go back and rearead!  I’ll be honest though, reading on my Kindle has kind of put a stop to that since it’s more difficult to skip around on an eReader.

True Confession:  When I finished the Sweet Valley High series, I graduated to Danielle Steel novels.  After reading about twenty or so of them, they all started to blend together, so that was the end of that.

True Confession:  I am a super slow reader.  Reading in a group always creates a sense of anxiety for me.  I am usually that girl who is the last one finished while everyone else waits.  Maybe that’s why I became a cheater reader!

True Confession:  I use to preview a book by checking how many pages it had.  I’ll never forget reading THE HELP on my Kindle and then seeing it on the shelf in the store.  That book is as thick as a brick!  I couldn’t believe I read it.

You should read this book even though it’s long!

True Confession:  I really enjoy reading nonfiction, especially if it is for professional development.  Here are just two of my favorites:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

True Confession:  Now it seems like there isn’t enough time in the day for me to read.  I am usually busy reading books for professional development, blogs, fiction books for leisure, and literature for children.

Food for Thought:

What are your true confessions? (Even if they’re not about reading) 

What kind of books do you like to read? How would you describe yourself as a reader?

3 thoughts on “My Journey as a Reader

  1. I prefer reading YA fiction, which happily encompasses many genres. I do tend to prefer a supernatural element, but it’s not a prerequisite. Adult horror is another favorite.

    Sweet Valley will always hold a treasured place in my heart. 🙂

  2. This was fun to read and brought back to me memories of my favorite at age 9, Walt Kelly’s ‘The Pogo Stepmother Goose’ book. I hereby bequeath said book, in my file cabinet, to you and Maddie. Never let it be said that I don’t have gravy on my babushka. (Ya gotta read the book!)

Leave a Reply

