Workout Wednesday {1/30/13}

Whoo hoo!!!! There are just *FOUR* more days until I officially begin my training for the Nike Woman’s Half Marathon in Washington, DC.  I am actually looking forward to the training because it will get me back into a more formal exercise routine.  Currently, I am focusing on strength training, but I hope to be able to continue with the strength training as I complete my weekly runs. A balancing act it will be, but I’m up for the challenge!

For strength training I am attending Les Mills classes: BODYPUMP and CXWORX.  If I am not at the gym, you can find me in my basement hating and loving my kettlebell workout.

Kettlebell Workout

Kettlebell Workout

I started with the 5 lb. weight and the 20 minute workout and I am proud to say that I have graduated to the 10 lb. weight and the 45 minute workout.  We also have a 15 lb. kettlebell in our basement, but it will be awhile before I can swing that bad boy around without killing myself! Pink Runner has been begging me to try her Pop Pilates DVD but I haven’t gotten up the courage to give it a whirl…just yet anyway!

In between my strength training and the depressing winter weather, I have slipped in a few runs.  My last run was on Sunday when I completed just over 5 miles.

5.16 Miles

5.16 Miles

I have a race on Saturday, so I hope I can get out there at least two more times.  I know that if I don’t, Saturday’s race will definitely KICK. MY. BUTT!

Happy Running!

Happing Racing!

Thanks for Visiting My Blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

