Just Show Up

We bereaved are not alone. We belong to the largest company in all the worldβ€”the company of those who have known suffering. ~Helen Keller

Today I will just show up.

If I don’t want to talk,

I won’t.

If I need to look the other way,

I will.

If I want to cry,

I know it will be okay.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I will remind myself,

they understand,

they know my pain,

they sense my emptiness.

They will honor me,

just because I showed up.

~~~~~~~~~~

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

Slice of Life

28 thoughts on “Just Show Up

  1. This is beautiful. You captured those feelings of dread and it shows that you are choosing to be brave in the face of something terrible. Hugs for today. You will be in my thoughts.

  2. So important! Sometimes it’s too easy to lose sight of how much courage it can take just to show up! Glad you did, and sorry for whatever you’re going through!

Leave a Reply

