Because of What Happened

We never truly get over a loss, but we can move forward and evolve from it. ~Elizabeth Berrien

Because of what happened,

I look at life a bit different now.

Because of what happened,

I want to capture and treasure as many memories as possible.

Because of what happened,

I see how blessed I am to have such great family and friends.

Because of what happened,

I realized that I need to be a better person.

Because of what happened,

I learned how vulnerable yet strong I really am.

Because of what happened,

I understand that there may be days of sadness still in front of me.

~but~

Because of what happened,

I know that, yes, time does heal and I will make it through the day.

~~~~~~~~~~

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

Slice of Life

18 thoughts on “Because of What Happened

  1. Amy, your poem not only helps you as you go through this difficult time, it is a reminder for all of us to live our lives consciously–to be in the moment. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Amy, thanks for sharing this wonderful poem. It is something I will take with me. I do not know exactly what happened, but I do feel your sadness has turned into breathing more life into the lives of others and into your own life.

    I read Kahlil Gibran in college and still have his writings including “A Tear and a Smile.” I guess that is what life is about – and tears do eventually turn into smiles. This beautiful poem reminds us to be present for our students, friends, and family. Be present – that, in itself, is a gift.

  3. We are the sum of our experience, aren’t we? Writing can be such an act of self-care when we are working through tough feelings. I hope your words brought you some peace today.

  4. Such a beautiful poem. I was instantly drawn in, being a young widow of three years myself, I feel the pain and sadness of your words. I will be printing out your poem as I sense hope in the words too.
    Thank you for being vulnerable.

  5. Pingback: Do I Dare? | Runner, Reader, & Rockin' Mom

Leave a Reply

