The Best of…

I love the city of Pittsburgh. I had never been there until we went college shopping. Now Maddie happens to go to school there, so I get to visit more frequently.  Quite simply, we have the best of times in Pittsburgh and this past weekend was no exception.

the best city for shopping:
We kicked off our visit with a quick stop at the Pittsburgh Marathon Expo. SO.MUCH.RUNNING.GEAR! Matt bought a new pair of sneakers and a running shirt. Then it was off to Shady Side on Walnut St. Maddie had birthday money so we stopped at Pandora and then went to Lululemon to buy her some running shorts for our 1/2 marathon the next day. We topped it off our trip with some delicious gelato from Mercurio’s.

the best city for dining out:
Saturday evening we had a delightful dinner at LeMont. The atmosphere and the service were excellent. And the view! It was spectacular.  Matt ordered a crab cake, Maddie a fillet, and I had sea scallops.  Dessert was on the house since we were celebrating Maddie’s birthday so she couldn’t resist the chocolate mousse cake.

the best city for running a race:
Sunday was race day! You know we are a family of runners.  Isn’t there a saying that says the family that runs together stays together? Well, maybe I made that saying up! Anyway, this was our second year of racing in Pittsburgh. Last year Matt and I ran the marathon and and Maddie ran the half-marathon. For as hilly as Pittsburgh is, the course is surprising kind and somewhat non-hilly!  This year Maddie and I tackled the half-marathon. The weather was so temperamental on race day and it really played with my mental aspect of racing. We weren’t sure if it was going to rain, thunderstorm, have cold temperatures, or even be a warm day.  One thing we were pretty sure…the sun wasn’t going to shine…and it didn’t. It ended up being warm and drizzly. So much so, that I was actually overdressed for the race.

the best city for site-seeing:
After the race Matt and I headed to Mt. Washington to get a view of the city.  It was magnificent! We could see the finish line of the race at The Point, Duquesne University, and the whole way down to the Cathedral of Learning at the University of Pittsburgh. Look at those skies though! Now you can see why the weather had me worked up and in a tizzy for the race.  Believe it or not, it only actually drizzled on and off. I can only imagine what our view could have been if the skies were clear and sunny.

the best city for casual dining:
We love to visit South Side Works for casual dining. Matt’s a fan of the Hofbrauhaus House. Me, not so much. But I did enjoy some post-race carb loading (if there is such a thing) and ordered the Hofbrauhaus pretzels and bier cheese for an appetizer. Lunch was a chicken salad sandwich on a croissant-nothing German about that! Matt had the Wurstplatte. Basically it was a sampling of Wursts. He was happy!
So today I’m celebrating the best of Pittsburgh, the time we have spent there, and the memories we have created.
~~~~~~~~~~
 Join in each Saturday for Celebrate This Week with Ruth Ayres.
It’s a time to celebrate the joy!
celebrate-image
9 thoughts on “The Best of…

  1. Amy, I grew up outside of Pittsburgh. We went back several years ago for college tours, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I’ve always loved the city architecture! Sounds like a wonderful weekend for all of you!

  2. My only “touch” of Pittsburgh is a stop at the airport on my way somewhere else. Your weekend sounds terrific, just being together doing all that you relished! Have a good weekend this one too, Amy.

  3. While I never been to Pittsburgh, it seems so different the way you described it from what I have heard. Your photos create an enthusiastic energy for a wonderful weekend memory, Amy. Since you are dabbling in poetry now and have some photos, how about creating alongside me for the spring gallery, Spring’s Seeds?

  4. I’ve never been to Pittsburgh and your “travel edition of celebrations” paints an invitation that makes me want to visit. Thanks for sharing your city.

  5. I love Pittsburgh! I had a great time there a couple weeks ago when I came to run the marathon. My boyfriend is from there and his whole family lives there so we’ve been several times, but this time I really got to see and explore more of the city. The full marathon was a very tough course though! I think next time I will do the half 😉

Leave a Reply

