Capturing Quotes

Nothing seems to inspire me more than reading a quote that feels like it is speaking directly to me. Maybe that has happened to you! That’s what happened this morning when I was scrolling through my blogs. Thank you to the quote on the Two Writing Teachers site that captured my attention. I knew I had something to write about, even if I told myself otherwise or if I didn’t want to write. Here’s a quote that has been speaking to me lately:

If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.

I see people all around me facing challenges. Sometimes we choose our challenges, sometimes fate determines our challenges. Challenges can be big or they can be small. It’s all in the eyes of the beholder truthfully. As I read through blogs I see others who are embarking on challenges. I know one teacher is moving her classroom and teaching another grade next year. While another is inspiring others to write by inviting them to join her for a writing retreat. Just recently I wrote about how Matt completed a physical endurance challenge.

~~~~~

And what about me? While I feel like I am not the type of person who goes out there and says “bring it on”, I definitely have accepted my share of challenges over the past few years. Many of those challenges came about due to an invitation or words of encouragement. And, I’m so glad I have been invited. That shoutout goes to Matt and Holly. You have challenged me and you have helped change me.

~~~~~

So I’m getting ready for a new challenge-a challenge that begins on July 11th. I will be starting the Whole 30 challenge journey. In a nutshell, I will be committing to eating whole natural foods for 30 days. (You can read my initial post here.) Yes, it will challenge me! Yes, it will change me.

~~~~

For those of you out there who are venturing into a new challenge or even contemplating one, I leave you with this quote:

What if I fall? Oh, but my darling, what if you fly?

What challenges are you taking on?

Who have you invited?

Who have you encouraged?

What are some quotes you like to capture?

~~~~~

SOL

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

5 thoughts on “Capturing Quotes

  1. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts about challenges, Amy. I recently was asked to consider presenting a 45-min. summer session on promoting effective talk during math work. My first inclination was “What????” then “NO! I don’t want to do this” and then…”Ugh. I probably should”. Finally I decided to look on it as a challenge that I’m embracing and learning from. I mean what’s the worst that can happen? (Don’t offer any examples please!) I still don’t know how it will go, but I know I will learn something from it–even if that something is to say NO next time as fast as I can! 🙂 Good luck with your challenge and kudos to you for trying something new. No matter what, you’re sure to learn something from it. Thanks for your thoughtful post!

  2. Any challenge we face, big or small, one we choose or one that is thrust upon us, always changes us for the better. Good luck on your new challenge.

Leave a Reply

