Note to Self

Tomorrow is the kickoff of our Whole 30 journey. As I embark on the next thirty days there are some points I want to keep in mind.

Note to Self #1:

It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell yourself this is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Birthing a baby is hard. Losing a parent is hard. Drinking your coffee black is.not.hard! You’ve done harder things than this, and you have no excuse not to complete the program as written. It’s only 30 days, and it’s for the most important health cause on earth-the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime. (The Whole30, p.16)

Whole30 will be a challenge, and yes, challenges are hard! But, when I read this I think: Cancer vs. Whole30 – I choose Whole30, seriously! Then I think, look at what you have done – 4 marathons, each one 18 weeks of training. Yep, that was a challenge, and yes, hard, but that was longer than 30 days of eating healthy. Then, I think of Matt and his IRONMAN training. Which would I choose: IRONMAN vs. Whole30 – sign me up for Whole30!

Note to Self #2:

Don’t even consider the possibility of a “SLIP”! Unless I physically trip and my face lands in a box of donuts, there is no “slip”. I make the choice to eat something unhealthy. It is always a choice, so do not phrase it as an accident. Commit to the program 100% for the full 30 days. Don’t give myself an excuse to fail before I’ve even started. (Whole30, p.16)

This is important to me. Setting expectations allow me to wrap my mind around the challenge journey. And, my personality compliments setting expectations. If this is the rule, I follow it.

So, here we go! I can do hard things! Yes, I can!

keep-calm-ig-300x300

One thought on “Note to Self

  1. Pingback: Whole 30: Love It or Loathe It? | Runner, Reader, & Rockin' Mom

Leave a Reply

