that moment when…

It’s that moment when…

you realize your daughter is honestly an adult. When the family vacation is over she packs her own car, gives hugs & kisses and says good-bye. She drives up that hill, her car becoming smaller and smaller as she drifts farther and farther away, and I recognize that no matter how far away she travels that she is always tied to her roots. They grow up fast I was told, and it is true! Oh, so true!

It’s that moment when…

you realize that making memories out weighs any material possession. It’s the laughs we share. It’s the table we gather around. It’s the food and drinks that we appreciate together. It’s the boisterous moments and noiseless nights. It’s the songs we sing and the music we enjoy.

It’s that moment when…

you realize the gift of today. Perhaps it’s the sun shining on your face or the pitter-patter of the rain that soothes your soul. Today is your day, so go out there and make it a great one!

It’s that moment when…

you realize a picture really is worth 1,000 words. They remind us of our times together, how our kids have grown, and how we are growing older but how young at heart we truly are.

It’s that moment when…

you realize that time will never stand still. While we may think the days drag and the weeks linger, the only constant is change. Embrace the change. Live it, laugh with it, love it, and repeat the next day!

SOL

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

17 thoughts on “that moment when…

  1. I appreciate the thoughts you’ve shared here about time and change and the contentment we can achieve if we accept the beauty in both. The image of your daughter driving away is particularly poignant for me this week as my daughter prepares to move out of state. As one mom to another, thank you for your affirmation and wisdom here!

  2. Amy, this post is so moving, poignant and honest. I can so relate to the image of your daughter driving away and to the feelings you share. Thanks for sharing!

  3. My absolute favorite reflection: “you realize that making memories out weighs any material possession.” YES!!!!!! It took me a long time to see this and I am finally, blessedly, there.

  4. Your post made me tear up as I think of my daughter going off to college. You are so right! Material possessions mean nothing! It’s the precious moments we have together as a family that count. Thanks for the post!

  5. We have been sharing a lot of memories this summer, as our oldest gets ready to head to Japan for a year-long work commitment. Thanks for the reflective piece this morning!

  6. They do grow fast! Sniff. I’m trying to make as many memories as I can with my boys. I hope they look back on their childhood and remember all the happy times, especially when they’re struggling or unsure of themselves. 🙂

  7. Love this post. Makes me thing of how our perspective of time changes as we age. As kids, time is forever. As adults it is fleeting. Make each moment count.

  8. Amy, I had to come back and let you know that your piece inspired my post today about Teddy. Your structure of “It’s that moment when . . . ” made me think of all the precious moments I’m spending with my new grandson and led me to write my poem.

  9. You crafted this slice so beautifully. I read and nodded. I can relate to what you wrote and your words touched me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

