Little Win

Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.

~Thich Nhat Hanh

It’s the morning drive to work,
on the horizon,
a field of grazing cows.
The beauty of the old barn,
but the goats, the goats!
Peering through the barn door,
frolicking in the farm yard,
chasing each other with their tiny gallops,
ears bouncing,
up, up, up,
down, down down!
A smile on my face,
happiness in my heart!
~Little win~
It’s the echo empty house,
silence broken
by the chime of a text message.
Happy birthday, Mom!
We share, we laugh
She reminds me,
“I’ll be home soon!”
We’ll shop,
go out to eat,
we’ll just hang out.
A smile on my face,
happiness in my heart!
~Little win~
It’s the kind words of a colleague,
thank you,
thank you for all you do.
Thank you,
thank for supporting us and our students,
thank you!
A smile on my face,
happiness in my heart!
~Little win~
It’s the rushing around,
errands here,
errands there.
Standing in a longer than necessary line,
hands full of “stuff”,
the kind words of a stranger,
“You go ahead,
you go first,” she says.
“Thank you!”
A smile on my face,
happiness in my heart!”
~Little win~
It’s the smile on their faces,
as they enter our classroom.
Talking,
sharing,
laughing.
But the delight they bring,
“You make me excited about books,
like never before!”
That’s what they said!
Mission accomplished!
A smile on my face,
happiness in my heart!”
~Little win~

SOL

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

18 thoughts on “Little Win

  1. Love this, Amy! It’s so important to celebrate those “little wins”! I could just see those little goats frolicking about and I totally understand the value of that sweet text message resonating in an empty house. Well done!

  2. Oh, Amy, thank you for these beautiful words this morning.
    “A smile on my face,
    happiness in my heart!”
    ~Little win~”
    I needed them. So glad to know you and savor your beautiful poetry.

Leave a Reply

