The Lies I Tell Myself

I spend a lot of time thinking about my running. I plan ahead what big races I want to conquer for the year, place them on my calendar, and then start mapping out a training plan.  I’ll admit it, I love doing this. I’m a planner. I also analyze obsess over my statistics. I can tell you how I ran the race, where I fell short, and where I shined.

I log every.single.run. 

I analyze every.single.run.

It annoys my family, I’m sure!

My mentality for running the race is just go out there and give it your best shot. You get what you get and you don’t get upset is my motto, most of the time. I show up and while I *never* say it on race day, I’m always hungry for a personal record/personal best.

Since my races for 2017 are already planned, I’ve been thinking about 2018 (I know, it’s only March of 2017!) and what I would like to achieve. The word marathon (26.2 miles) whispers in my ear.

But not just any marathon.

I keep thinking about running a marathon that would enable me to qualify for the Boston Marathon. The Boston Marathon is the marathon of all marathons that runners strive to race. It has strict qualifying times and even if you qualify there’s no guarantee you’ll get in the race.

But here’s the funny part…I want to qualify, but I really am not that obsessed about running the Boston Marathon. I just want to say, “I qualified!”

Oh yes, I’ve analyzed my stats and I’ve been on the race predictor calculators a few numerous times. I’ve calculated worse case scenarios and best case scenarios. The possibility for success is close; it’s achievable!  I’ve even picked out the race I would run to qualify and I’ve considered working with a coach. So, what’s holding me back?

It’s the lies I tell myself!

  • You are way too old for this! What are you thinking? Give it up!
  • You’re not good enough and probably won’t make it anyway, so why try?
  • You’ll have to do speed work to train for this. You can’t do speed work. You hate it.
  • You don’t like someone else telling you how to train. You will need to be a slave to a coach and someone else’s training plan.
  • You don’t have time for this. You have other priorities you should devote your time to.

Truth be told, we all have lies we tell ourselves.

Those lies can grow like weeds and take over. So why not practice lie management and shift the mindset? A growth mindset that would allow those weeds to turn to bright and beautiful wildflowers. Wildflowers that would takeover, look up and smile at the sun. A mindset that would look like/sound like this:

  • You are blessed that you can get out there and run with those in their 20s, 30s, heck, even those in their early 40s! Go get them!
  • It’s better to say I tried than to have regrets of never trying. If I fail or if I succeed at least I can say I gave it my best.
  • Speed work will take you to the next level. It’s what you need to give you that edge.
  • Hiring a coach will give you the expertise you need, a fresh new perspective!
  • You make time for what you value. You’ll figure it out, you always do.

I’m in the 45-49 age bracket and Boston says I need this:

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 11.02.39 AM.png

My race predictor calculator says I should be able to run this:

Screen Shot 2017-03-10 at 11.02.09 AM.png

~~~~~

My race predictor believes in me more than I do.

I guess it’s time to grant myself some grace and stop telling lies to myself.

~~~~~

SOL

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

19 thoughts on “The Lies I Tell Myself

  1. My wife trained for the Boston Marathon, and spent a long time trying to find a way to get a pin to run (it was the year following the bombing) but never did. She doesn’t regret the training, but wishes even now that she could have found a way in. Good luck!
    Kevin

  2. I love this post! While I don’t run, I can appreciate the part of this where you say, “Truth be told, we all have lies we tell ourselves.” This is so true. You’ll figure it out! Can’t wait to see what happens!

  3. I just started running/ walking/ jogging three weeks ago when I was inspired by the Run Disney Race that was happening when I was on vacation. My hope is to be able to jog the whole 5k before next year. It’s tough. It’s been very cold where I live and I am longing for warmer weather. The tread mill is so boring. Good luck to you.

    • It is had work! If it was easy everyone would do it. I walked for several years before I started running and when I did start running I could only run for 10 minutes. Stick with it!

  4. Those lies we tell ourselves do hold us back. I like Jennifer’s comment that the lies are “bullies.” It sounds as though you don’t let those lies control you though. Good luck, you dedicated runner you!

  5. Fabulous, Amy! Go for it! It’s a great goal, and it sounds like it is an achievable one, too! I love the lie management idea and the shift to a growth mindset. This would be a great piece to share with students as well. My goal relates to walking 10,000 steps each day. I am getting back to that and making the time, even when a day is busy. I so admire that you are a runner! As Langston Hughes once wrote: Hold fast to dreams….

  6. Well, there you go! The lies aren’t nearly as fun and productive as the second list of growth mindset wildflowers. I hope you will be able to do it, Amy. I’m sure you’ll give it your best shot, and the shot is really good. Someday, you will be able to say, “I qualified.”

  7. I was just listening to a podcast this morning about reading logs and the podcaster was saying that people often track important things in their lives- I thought of that after reading the first few lines of your post. I like the idea of turning our thoughts into more positive ones- lie management is awesome!

Leave a Reply

