Are You Kidding Me?

The dentist called to confirm my appointment. They requested that I arrive 10 minutes early so they can update my records in their new computer system. I arrived as requested and they took me 20 minutes later.

Are you kidding me?

We were out of rabbit food for the buns. I stopped at the only pet store that carries their food. The shelf was empty. Temporarily out of stock the sign read!

Are you kidding me?

My hubby did the income tax return. We owe again this year!

Are you kidding me?

The winter weather has been balmy lately, if you can use the word balmy in the winter. Matt and I decided to head outside and work on taming the weeds by the wetlands. He broke out his chainsaw and I took out the electric trimmers. We wrestled with those weeds. We thought we won. He got poison on his arms. I got poison on my legs.

Are you kidding me?

I woke up early to publish my blog post and to read and comment on some other blogs. When I opened up my computer the I received this message, “internet connection unavailable”.

Are you kidding me?

The foyer window has been leaking for some time. We paid bookoo bucks to have it repaired. The rain arrived. The window leaked!

Are you kidding me?

I arrived home and went to pull in the driveway. It appears that the neighborhood geese had a poop party in my driveway. Driving up the driveway was like maneuvering through a minefield, minefield of poop!

Are you kidding me?

I borrowed an ebook from the public library. I didn’t finish reading it. The due date arrived. The book could not be renewed!

Are you kidding me?

I volunteer at the SPCA on Saturday mornings. When I was there I found the perfect female rabbit to bring home. I said, “I’ll take her.” They said, “Great!” We made arrangements for me to come back and pick her up. About an hour before I was to arrive to pick her up  I received a text, “We adopted your rabbit to another person, but we have another bunny you we think you will love.”

Wait for it…

FullSizeRender.jpg

Are you kidding me?

All I can say is thank goodness I have some “sanity savers” that allow me to look back at these situations and laugh, just laugh!

~~~~~

SOL

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

21 thoughts on “Are You Kidding Me?

  1. “Laughter is the best medicine.” A sense of humor helps carry the day every time, no matter how annoying incidents may be!

  2. This is too much!!! I couldn’t help but giggle. My husband has a saying he likes to bring out in times like this: “Sometimes the best deeds don’t go unpunished.” Sounds like it would work for you too.

    • I actually had a lot of fun writing this piece! Fortunately they didn’t all happen in one day, but over a course of time. I use the catch phrase, “Are you kidding me” to help me roll with it just a little bit easier. 🙂

  3. Laugh is my OLW this year so you had me right away! I loved the repetition and the building – reminds me of Alexander and the No Good Horrible Day. Did you get the bunny? Is the bunny not cute? Are you going to tell us in the next slice??
    Clare

    • Well, we did bring home the “other” rabbit and she is so sweet and cute! While she wasn’t my “first” choice we love her like she is. I’m glad I could make you laugh this morning! Thanks for stopping by for a visit.

  4. This is such a tremendous post. I’m laughing and shaking my head in agreement. Sometimes life is like this! So glad that you are able to share here and we can enjoy.

  5. Oh, I laughed and laughed all the way through. Some, I immediately connected with like requests to move up appointments and then you wait anyway. The best use of effective repetition, and then the “wait for it” at the end. I must ask, did you take the other bunny?

    • Oh yes, we did welcome her (the other rabbit) into our home. The bottom line is that they know at the shelter that once I said yes that I’d say yes to any rabbit. The way I look at it, two rabbits got a home that day, not just one!

  6. Laughing beats crying. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow…Or better yet, go back to bed and wake up tomorrow. It’s got to be better. So, did you love the other bunny?

    • I couldn’t agree with you more that laughter beats crying. The “other” bunny is indeed at our house and we love her dearly! Truth be told, there were two lucky bunnies that found homes that day!

Leave a comment