Do I Dare?

Before the Slice of Life Writing Challenge began I created a list of possible topics. One of those writing topics is Throw Back Thursday. How fun would it be to look back and see what I writing a year ago on this date?

But I hesitated.

I knew there were some posts I wrote last year that were very brave; they were very bold for me. I wore my emotions on my sleeve and I shared.

So, do I dare? Do I dare look back and perhaps stir up those emotions, again? Curiosity got the best of me. I put on my big girl panties and I pulled up that post from March 16, 2016. It is titledĀ Because of What Happened. It was just as I suspected. It took me to where I didn’t think I wanted to go.

But when I started reading I was greeted with this quote:

We never truly get over a loss, but we can move forward and evolve from it. ~Elizabeth Berrien

It was just what I needed to read. So true. So appropriate. There’s not a day I don’t think of you, but I’ve been strong. Today I think about the good times, the times that made us laugh and the inside jokes that only we understood.

I stop by your tree from time-to-time. It brings a smile to my face. While it doesn’t have any leaves on it right now, it stands tall. The perennials are sprouting from the soil. The perennials from your yard. This too makes me smile.

On this Thursday, I’m glad I dared. I’m glad I looked back while I continue to move forward remembering the wonderful memories we shared.

FullSizeRender

~~~~~

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

7 thoughts on “Do I Dare?

  1. Amy, I remember your posts from last year. They inspired me to write about grief too. You dared and you showed your readers what can come from being brave. Every time we write and publish we take a risk. Thank you for sharing with us.

  2. Yesterday I wrote about grief, too. I think it makes us who we are in a beautiful complex way people don’t always want to think about. But, it is that courage you speak of with the experience of loss and the promise we will never forget that gives us our tender hearts or empathetic souls to share with others.

  3. A very brave thing to do – to take a look back – to remember that we grieved deeply. I remember your posts from last year, Amy. It made me think of my mom and dad, and many friends I’ve lost in the past several years. Remembering is key – as long as we keep them in our hearts and say their names, they are remembered. It is important to remember.

  4. Bravery and strength show through this piece. Remembering the good things helps us move forward. Shedding tears helps us to never forget. I applaud your bravery.

Leave a comment