Date Day

Two Sundays ago Matt decided to take me on a date. A real date that was just us, not a trip to the gym for a workout or out for a training run for our upcoming race. A real date!

As you can see from the photo, the sky was a brilliant crystal clear blue and the snow was still on the ground from our March Madness blizzard. The air was crisp and cool. It was a perfect day to go to the Dissolve Float Spa, and, well, float!

IMG_3403

So what is floating???? That is what I was wondering when Matt told me about it. Basically you get in a “pod” the is filled with epson salt and warm water and you float. Honestly, it reminds me of a tanning bed only with water and without the harmful lights.

Truthfully I’m not one for a massage. Something about having a stranger rub his or her hands all over your barely dressed body just is not me. But the floating, that’s a different story. It’s therapeutic, it’s warm, and it’s peaceful. It’s also surprising how you just float in the water. My session was for an entire hour and it was just what I needed to break the winter blues. It did take me several minutes to settle into my float, but once I truly relaxed I enjoyed it. I think that the next time I go for a float the experience will be even better since I know what to anticipate.

After our float we headed out for brunch. We went to a new restaurant called The Handsome Cab. Our good friends introduced us to it a few weeks ago and Matt and I really enjoyed it. When he saw they offered a brunch, he made the reservations.

IMG_3412

We started off with a cheese tray and Matt ordered the European Staycation wine flight. I had a refreshing Lady in Red to drink.

Then our meal arrived. Matt had Lox Toast Points. His entree was cured smoked salmon, shredded potato leeks, tomato, and caper cream cheese. My entree was a bit more simplistic. I ordered the Eggs Benedict Oscar. It was two poached eggs on top of a delicious Maryland crab cake. It was amazing!

We had a delightful afternoon and I’m thankful that Matt planned this time just for us. I am looking forward to doing something similar again soon!

~~~~~

 

Slice of Life

hosted at

Two Writing Teachers

Join in and share a slice of your life!

13 thoughts on “Date Day

  1. Yay, Matt! What a delightful date! It’s so important to take time to do and discover new things together. I’m so glad you enjoyed the day. But…please tell me the floating didn’t involve closing that lid!!! Holy claustrophobia Batman!

  2. Oh, what a memorable day, and so relaxing! I have never heard of float pods before. What a great idea – floating! Thanks for sharing your special day and giving us a peek through both words and photos!

  3. Amazing Day! I don’t know about the float for myself, though. Do they close that top over you? Are you floating in the dark? That would freak me out. But I do love brunch! And the important thing is Matt knows what would please you, and he arranged the date. Wonderful!

Leave a comment